No icon

7 mayoral contestants in Rangamati Municipality

CHTJ Desk: Seven contestants are vying for the mayoral post in the upcoming Municipality polls which will be held on December 30.

Among the candidates, Akbar Hossain Chowdhury from Awami League (AL), incumbent mayor Saiful Islam Bhutto from BNP, Dr. Gonga Manik Chakma from Parbatya Chattagram Jana Samhati Samiti (PCJSS), Siba Prasad Mishra from Jatiya Party (JP) and three other are independent candidates---Md. Habibur Rahman, Rabiul Alam and Amar Kumar Dey.

Though the two---Habib and Rabiul filed their nominations as independent contenders but they are considered as rebel candidates for AL and BNP. Meanwhile, both of them were expelled from their respective parties for their anti-party activities.    

Habibur Rahman was a primary member of AL while Rabiul Alam was the vice president of district unit Jatiyatabadi Shramik Dal.