No icon

CHT English Journalists’ Association forms

CHT Journal Desk: An 18-member committee of Chittagong Hill Tracts English Journalists’ Association (CHT-EJA) was formed on Saturday.

A meeting was called at its head office at Banarupa in the Rangamati town where most of the reporters of different English dailies as well as news agencies from Rangamati, Bandarban and Khagrachhari hill districts were present.

Shantimoy Chakma, Rangamati Correspondent of New Age presided over the meeting.

Enamul Haq Kashemi, Bandarban correspondent of BSS, The Daily Stars’ correspondent of Bandarban Sanjoy Kumar Barua, AKM Zahoorul Haq (BSS), The Independents’ correspondent of Rangamati Anowar Hossain, Oli Ahmed, Rangamati Correspondent of UNB, Saikat Dewan, Khagrachhari correspondent of The Daily Star, Rafiqul Alma of Daily Observer, Khagrachhari correspondent of New Age Chaithoai Marma, Cha Ba Thuie Marma (BD and news editor of the local English news portal Binoy Chakma were present in the meeting.

In the meeting, a 15-member executive committee was formed for three years period where Shantimoy Chakma, Rangamati Correspondent of New Age and Enamul Haq Kashemi, Bandarban Correspondent of Bangladesh Sangbad Sangstha (BSS), were made president and general secretary respectively.

Binoy Chakma was made as treasurer.

Bandarban and Rangamati Correspondents of UNB Aminul Islam Bachchu and Oli Ahmed and Jiten Barua of BSS, Khagrachhari were made as vice presidents, joint secretary Jasim Uddin Majumder (daily Sun), organising secretary Chaithoai Marma(New Age), Women affairs secretary Molly Barua ( and cultural affairs secretary Cha Ba Thuie Marma (BD

The executive members are: AKM Zahoorul Haq (BSS), Chowdhury Ataur Rahman Rana (UNB), Khagrachhari and Anowar Hossain (The Independent), Rangamati, Sanjoy Kumar Barua (The Daily Star) and S Basu Das (Dhaka Tribune), Bandarban.

Saikat Dewan (The Daily Star), Khagrachhari, Mostafa Kamal (daily Obsserver), Rangamati and Rafiqul Alam (daily Observer), Bandarban were selected as general members of the eighteen members body.

Speakers at the meeting stressed the need for strengthening the mutual cooperation and professional development among the English reporters in Chittagong Hill Tracts region. The journalist leaders decided that to discharge their respective duty with honesty and integrity abiding by the journalistic norms and rules. (chtj-desk/report).